The Path To Peace

September 21 - International Day of Peace

As a Christian woman I have searched to find the path of peace promised to believers in John 14:27.  Jesus, on his way to Calvary and the cross told us, “Peace, I leave with you; my peace I give you.” 

 Even though I knew this truth, I found that life’s struggles often clouded my vision of God’s peace.  As financial turmoil, declining health and future uncertainty crept into my life, I looked for ways back to God’s beautiful peace.

Usually, this path started with prayer. Sometimes, I’d include humbling myself with fasting and studying God’s word specific to my challenge.  These acts of faith always led me to peace that only existed near God’s presence.  

My issue was I needed to learn how to stay near His presence and His peace. I needed the wisdom to stay peaceful in spite of my circumstance, beyond what I saw, and regardless of how I felt.

I pondered how to stay on the path to peace.

After much contemplation and study, I found Matthew 11:28-29 where Jesus calls us to Himself.  “Come unto me, all you who are weary and burdened and I will give you rest.”  He says, “Take my yoke upon you and learn from me, for I am gentle and humble in heart and you will find rest for your souls.”  

I pondered this verse in my soul.  What does taking on Jesus’ yoke mean?  How can I learn to be gentle and humble to find rest AND peace?

The answers to these questions became very clear when I found Proverbs 3:5-6, where David reminds us, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, and lean not to your own understanding; in all your ways acknowledge Him and He will direct your path.”

This verse reminded me not to lean on my understanding.  If I copied the nature of Jesus; humbleness and gentleness in times of trouble, regardless of what I saw, I could have the rest (and peace) Jesus promised.

Once I acknowledged God knows what’s best for me, I could take a deep breath, connected to His yoke, and find rest for my mind and body.  I concluded, I could “come” to Jesus for direction.  Then I could trust He would lead me correctly in all circumstances.     

Trusting God is the path to peace. Learning Jesus’ nature of humbleness and gentleness is the way to rest. Beyond this truth, I may still encounter pebbles and potholes along the way, but now I can rest knowing that my path will always be straight.

http://www.biblegateway.com/

Leave a Reply

