Forgive Yourself

 I recently had a beautiful outing with my family.  Following a long day of fun we decided to caravan to a restaurant to eat.  After a wrong turn, unbelievable traffic, and a tour of at least three county lines, we stopped at a Mexican restaurant.

Beside the fact we passed 50 other Mexican restaurants, no one cared what we were going to eat, we just wanted to stop driving.

At the end of this driving tour my frustration level was off the chart.  My sister was driving and I needed to voice my frustration to anyone who would listen.  I asked my sister to forgive me then I bleeped out a four letter word.

I got out of the car and bleep out the same four letter word to the other members of my family. Then quickly asked them to forgive me. 

“I’m sorry,” I said, “I just had to let out some steam.”  Everyone overlooked my outburst and hurried into the restaurant for that long awaited meal.

During the meal I couldn’t get this off my mind.  “How could I have lost my cool?”  I thought.  “How is a God loving person praising God with the same mouth that curses? I felt ashamed.

After some soul searching, I asked God to forgive me, asked my family to forgive me again, and then I had to work on forgiving myself.

In Hebrews 8:12 the bibles tells us, “For I will forgive their wickedness and remember their sins no more.” 

When we repent from our sins, God forgives and remembers them no more.  This is so reassuring because as believers of Jesus Christ we are being transformed by the renewing of our mind to be like Christ.  The key word is “being” transformed.

The process of being holy and righteous is a process.  We can’t beat ourselves up when we fail or fall.  We must simply recognize our sin, turn away from it (aka repent) and then ask for forgiveness. 

The final part of this process is to forgive ourselves. 

We are all a work in progress.  It is like a painter painting a masterpiece.  After a mistake, they don’t throw away the canvass, they keep painting.  Blending colors over the mistake and creating a wonderful image in spite of the mistake.

I had to forgive myself for all my past mistakes, errors and sins.  I know God already has.

Leave a Reply

