Milk or Meat

 When preparing to write Ponder Faith I often pray for God’s wisdom and appropriate words to communicate His instruction.  After pondering what comes to mind, I often write hoping the information is clear and concise.

Not knowing for sure who my readers are; if they are a non-believer, a spiritual baby or spiritually mature, I  find myself questioning if the words are too tough, too mature, or lack spiritual clarity. 

Hence, Ponder Faith.

Many times, after writing on a specific subject, I would “lighten up” the words in hopes the writings did not turn people away from the wisdom of God’s message.

Afterwards, I felt my writings were restricted by this ungodly fear.

I had to resolve this matter because my writings were not my own. The truth of God is in His word and I could not restrict the work of God.  I had to face this problem in prayer.

God brought to remember the story of Paul who spoke to believers in 1 Corinthians  3:1-2, “And I, brethren, could not speak to you as to spiritual people but as to carnal, as to babes in Christ. 2 I fed you with milk and not with solid food; for until now you were not able to receive it, and even now you are still not able,”

God gave me peace about this matter.  

He revealed to me that His word does in-fact cut, heal, mend, rebuke, restore and convict.  The impact of His word or truth is not my business.  Some readers will in-fact be spiritual babies only able to digest milk; others will be able to digest meat.

In Hebrews 5:13-14, Paul spoke about this issue again, “For everyone who partakes only of milk is unskilled in the word of righteousness, for he is a babe. 14 But solid food belongs to those who are of full age, that is, those who by reason of use have their senses exercised to discern both good and evil.”

Thus, I will go on obeying God and write, spiritual babies will go on growing and spiritual meat eaters will mature to discern both good and evil. 

God’s will WILL be done.

*

Leave a Reply

