Ending Well

Thinking about Whitney Houston I find myself fighting back tears. She was so beloved, so blessed and her end so tragic.

No one knows the hour of their own passing. We can’t choose the way, the time or the circumstance. We can only dictate how we choose to live.

Ultimately, our choice comes down to how we respond to life’s uncertainties. Whether to love or hate, fight or give up, stand or run, we choose. The wonderful fact that we have the intellect to choose is what evolutionist can’t fit into the “we crawled out of the ocean” theory. This is where my thoughts of ending well begin.

Jesus said, “I have come that you may have life and life more abundantly.” Is abundant life equal to more money or more stuff?

I don’t believe so. Just ask King Solomon who said, “The sleep of a laborer is sweet, whether he eats little or much, but the abundance of a rich man permits him no sleep.” (Eccl. 5:12) More money = more problems, therefore, this is not the abundance Jesus spoke of.

What then is abundant life?

Jesus said, “Peace I leave you, my peace I give you.” (John 14:27) He also said, “I am the way, truth and life. No one comes to the Father except through me.” (John 14:6) From these two simple bible verses we see that “abundant life” includes: peace, the way, the truth, and then, abundant life.

How does this relate to ending well?

It is my conclusion that life is passing away from us all. We have nothing sure except that death will visit us one day. Saying this, I also conclude that to end well is to start well.

Starting off believing what Jesus said, “Through Him we can have an abundant life,” I can choose this abundant life. I, then, can have peace in all of life’s uncertainties as I choose to follow His lead toward the Way, and the Truth and the Father.

As hocus pocus as this sounds, I choose to believe it. In the end, I choose to follow Jesus’ lead of loving, forgiving and giving. I choose to tell everyone who will listen that there is life “more abundantly” to those who choose it.

In the end, when my time comes, and it will surely come, I choose to believe that it will end well. I will be fully poured out, giving my best to friends, family, and my faith.

I only hope and pray that everyone will look past the theory of evolution, and see the beautiful choice of created life and its truth. We all weep and mourn the loss of Whitney Houston, but joy comes in the morning. Let’s live abundantly and then, end well.

Leave a Reply

