Persistence Not Perfection

I recently had a situation that rocked me to the core. I had been trying to bridge a relationship that had no foundation. I made excuses for their bad behavior, disrespect and ignorance. It seemed to work, but underneath the fibers of this relationship did not exist.

I was disappointed when this relationship finally failed and I blamed myself for its flaws. I thought I had done everything possible to make it work. I thought if I had shown them how to love more, give more, and forgave more, it could have survived. I had done everything except given it to God.

When the bridge that I built to maintain this relationship finally broke, I blamed myself. I never held anyone else accountable for their actions. I personally felt the burden of failure and the weight of defeat.

What a mistake I made.

If only I had given this relationship over to God, I would have been free to let it develop as God would have intended. There may have been bumps in the road, but it would have been left up to God’s way of fixing them, not mine.

I discovered, sometimes relationships need to be built on strong foundations of mutual trust, respect and love. No one can MAKE that happen. I was wrong.

I also discovered that God understands our mistakes. He looks for persistence in us, not perfection. God knows His ways are always best, we just have to agree with Him.

Finally, I went to God in prayer and asked for His forgiveness and wisdom. After acknowledging that I was wrong, God reminded me of Proverbs 3: 5-6, “Trust in the Lord with all your heart, And lean not on your own understanding; In all your ways acknowledge Him, And He shall direct[a] your paths.”

The kindness of the Lord showed me that I can release all relationships and situations to Him.  He will give me His wisdom and understanding to follow His perfect path, not mine.

I’m so glad that God looks at my persistence and not my lack of perfection. In this I trust, God’s way is always perfect. Like the old saying goes, “Let go and let God.”

Leave a Reply

