Thankful

image

The definition of thankful is this: glad that something has happened or not happened, that something or someone exists, etc.
: of, relating to, or expressing thanks

This definition led me to ponder Thanksgiving Day, celebrated the last Thursday of November in the U.S. It is a day for family gatherings, a big meal, football and a nap. No work for most, no school for all and entrance to the holiday season. It’s a great time for some, for others it’s loneliness and a reminder they have no one who cares. My heart bleeds for the later.

This year I ponder what it means to be thankful, truly thankful. Back to the definition of thankful; glad that something has happened or not happened, that something or someone exists, etc.

I’m thankful for family, friends, health, my home, car, etc., but I’m most thankful for Jesus. I’m glad that He was born, I’m glad He lived and told us about a loving God. I’m glad he obeyed the most difficult call of His life; to die on the cross for me (and you). I’m glad that I am saved by God’s mercy and grace…because I believe in Christ Jesus. I’m glad that (with the help of The Holy Spirit) I live in peace with God.

I am : glad that something has happened or not happened, that something or someone exists, etc., and now I give am expressing thanks.

Thank you for Lord God for Jesus and everything else, too.

Leave a Reply

